Communicating online/offline: a quick reference

If you read this blog once in a while, you probably remember the announce that I posted on 2009-04-22: “Social Networking: First Book

At the time, I added only the link to the printed version.

This article is really what I could call a “meta-article”: an article about articles.

With links and references not just to material published in this blog, but also material that I published elsewhere, and bibliographical references.

The purpose is simple: as I said and wrote repeatedly to friends, partners, colleagues, bystanders who dared to ask…

… the beauty of the Internet joined by the OpenSource movement is that finally Information Technology delivers its promise: to be an enabler.

You do not need anymore to be (or have) a computer technician to publish and structure your ideas.

Or to use those “vanity publishers”- in many cases acting just as pre-paid printers.

You just need three basic items:

  1. content with a logic
  2. a publishing plan
  3. a communication plan, assigning people and purpose to each channel

For selected pro-bono projects I helped and will help in the future with all the three items.

For everybody else, I would like to summarize and share some updates and material, so that you can then make your own choices.

Here we go:

A short introduction to what’s new
here you will find the link to get your own printed copy of “Engaging New Generations”, the book that includes some of the material that I contributed (as first printing rights) from my own applied research on new media

The original material on Social Networking and bibliography (1.5MB, Acrobat PDF)
This document (the original “first draft”, delivered on 2008-10-17) was drafted, on purpose, without consulting any of the “famous” books, using just my own research and bibliographical references useful within the framework of my (applied) theory on new media; if you want, it is an extensive introduction to social media within a marketing framework (50 A4-pages plus 11 pages to cross-reference the 50 pages with the “Engaging” booklet, and 15 pages of bibliography with links etc (83 selected items out of over 400); see my notes after the end of this list for reading suggestions

Wikinomics, from Don Tapscott and Anthony D. Williams
the “Engaging” booklet can also double as a quick reference to the famous and quite informative cross-reference on the new media economy but, as I discovered when I read it in November 2008, after releasing my “first draft”, quite dense

Laundry list of new media “channels”: DIY cross-media or campaigning without a budget
A one-liner: focus on the communication staff budget, and forget about the technology- here is how

Application 1: A virtual news agency
using new media for a “virtual” (or “citizen’s”) news agency

Application 2: Google Translate and democratic access to technology
Innovation using OpenSource tools- not perfect, but reaching the target

Application 3: (dis)integrating corporate communications
Do you know what is outsourcing? If not, have a look on wikipedia. But if you do: when and how do you define what to outsource?

Application 4: Building a cross-media presence
Over the last few years you heard often the word “format”, when referring to TV, movies (usually along with the word “franchise”). See how did I experimenting “walking the talk”

Of course, there are more articles- but this is just to give you a quick “virtual book”.

Also, follow the AGB2009 series, to try applying the same design approach that I developed, and used in consulting since at least 1993, in different environments.

The AGB2009 series is structured as a 3-steps “virtual brainstomring” process, and the first step contains a 500-words (max) introduction to “seed” your brainstorming, with the bibliography and suggested readings.

As for the notes: if you dare to read the 50-pages document, you will find typos etc- fine, it was the first draft 🙂

I prepared that document by extracting a subset of my research, postponing the publication of an online book, but hopefully to reach a wider audience on paper.

As I had transferred to the customer just the first publishing rights, that expired six months after the 2008-10-17 delivery, waited the Summer (the “Engaging” book was published in April 2009), to allow time to fix typos etc.

But in my source document you will notice something in the bibliography: beside the link, or ISBN reference for books, I added also a “.PDF” reference (not a link).

The reason is simple: online content comes and goes.

And often disappears.

So, whenever I reference something in my articles, I download a copy, just in case the link disappears.

Moreover: I grew reading scripts and books, and I always found annoying not giving proper attribution to the sources that inspired my ideas.

Read on my approach to fair use: it is close to creative commons for attribution, but without all the legal mumbo-jumbo 😀

And, of course, I walk the talk- therefore, sorry if sometimes my articles are overloaded with links and references: it is not to show off.

It is just by habit deriving from my pre-consulting time: give as much information as needed to allow the readers of my scribblings to, if they so decide, come to radically different conclusions from the same information 😉

I will eventually re-activate the “articles” section on PartnershipIncubator.Com, that from September is focused just on research and pro-bono activities.

If you want to discuss items or activities, visit the website, or contact me on @robertolofaro, or on Facebook

Any comment and constructive criticism is more than welcome.

Of course: you can also suggest items that you would like to be discussed.

If it is something that I did not already write about in public sites, I will give the reference to the source of the “lead”.

Therefore, when suggesting something, send also e-mail address or twitter link to add as a reference to the source.

Leave a Reply

